England confirm latest 25-player squad as Euro 2024 looms

England manager Gareth Southgate greets Harry Kane as he is substituted during the UEFA EURO 2024 qualifying round group C match between England and Ukraine at Wembley Arena on March 26, 2023 in London, United Kingdom. 

Gareth Southgate has named his England squad for the March international break, handing debuts to Everton's Jarrad Branthwaite and Newcastle United forward Anthony Gordon.

In what will be the final international break before Euro 2024, England will take on high-level competition in the shape of Brazil and Belgium, giving Southgate a strong idea of what he can expect from his side.

The England boss has not shied away from some big decisions for this squad, handing out two debuts and also leaving out usual favourite Kalvin Phillips. The midfielder has struggled since joining West Ham United on loan from Manchester City and has been dropped from the Three Lions setup as a result.

There is a return for Brentford striker Ivan Toney, whose solitary cap for England came on March 26, 2023, before he was handed an eight-month ban for gambling breaches. Liverpool defender Joe Gomez makes his first squad since October 2020.

Chelsea forward Cole Palmer keeps his place after Southgate watched the 21-year-old impress on Monday evening, while Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins retains his spot as the primary back-up to Harry Kane after racking up 16 goals and ten assists in the Premier League this season.

Jordan Henderson retains his spot in the squad after swapping Al Ettifaq for Ajax last month, but there is no place for the injured Jack Grealish.

Kalvin Phillips

England squad for March international break

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Ajax), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur), Declan Rice (Arsenal).

Forwards: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United) Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Want to know what about livetscore check out our article

Post a Comment

What do you think?

Previous Post Next Post