Barcelona legend Lionel Messi favorite for this year’s Ballon d’Or – report


Lionel Messi winner of the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year 2023 award signs the wall at the Montblanc Signing Wall during the 2023 Laureus World Sport Awards Paris at Cour Vendome on May 08, 2023 in Paris, France.

FC Barcelona have been one of the most represented clubs in the history of the biggest individual award in football, the Ballon d’Or.

The upcoming 67th ceremony for this award is scheduled to take place on 30th October at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, and once again, Barcelona fans will find familiar faces aspiring to win this title.

Messi the favourite for the Ballon d’Or

As SPORT has reported, Lionel Messi and Aitana Bonmati are two of the favorites to win the Ballon d’Or. Both the players had spectacular seasons last year and thus are well-placed to win the most prestigious individual award in world football.

Messi’s achievements during the last season include winning the Ligue 1 with PSG, winning the Leagues Cup with Inter Miami, and winning the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar. Messi was chosen as the best player of the tournament, was the second-highest scorer behind Mbappe, and also one of the three best assisters.

If everything goes as predicted, Messi will win his eighth Ballon d’Or this time, as he has already won this award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and 2021. Winning this award will help Messi set an almost insurmountable record, and will have a three-title gap on his closest adversary, Cristiano Ronaldo, who has five Ballon d’Ors to his name.

Aitana Bonmati also the favorite in the women’s category

A Barcelona player, Aitana Bonmati, is also the favorite to win the award in the women’s category. This year, she won the Spanish Super Cup, the league, and the Champions League with Barcelona. She was Barcelona’s second-top scorer, only behind Asisat Oshoala.

Like Messi, Bonmati also won the World Cup with Spain this year. She won the Golden Ball for this tournament and also won the Best Player in Europe award by UEFA.

Post a Comment

Please 🙏 engage and share this content

Previous Post Next Post