Gareth Southgate announces England squad for Euro 2020

Gareth Southgate, Manager of England talks during a Press Conference after announcing his Squad for the upcoming UEFA Euro 2020 on June 01, 2021 in Middlesbrough, England.

Jesse Lingard, James Ward-Prowse and Ollie Watkins were among the six names cut from Gareth Southgate’s Euros squad as Trent Alexander-Arnold got the nod.

The Three Lions boss last week made the decision to name a provisional 33-man squad rather than his final 26-strong selection due to players’ injury concerns and continental cup final commitments.

Southgate has now finalised his Euro 2020 selection, trimming six players after Mason Greenwood withdrew through injury on the morning of the announcement.

Lingard, Ward-Prowse and Watkins missed out along with the uncapped trio of Aaron Ramsdale, Ben Godfrey and Ben White.

Euro 2020, originally scheduled for last summer was rescheduled amid the coronavirus pandemic which put an end to one of the biggest sporting events in the world.

The competition will go ahead 12 months later than planned with plenty of interest among the home nations interest.

Scotland will join England in Group D with Czech Republic and Croatia.

Wales will join Italy, Switzerland and Turkey in Group A.

After reaching the World Cup semi-finals in 2018, expectations are high heading into the first tournament Gareth Southgate’s Three Lions will play on home soil – in part, at least – since Euro 96.

Here is the full squad:


Dean Henderson

Sam Johnstone

Jordan Pickford


Trent Alexander-Arnold

Ben Chilwell

Conor Coady

Reece James

Harry Maguire

Tyrone Mings

Luke Shaw

John Stones

Kieran Trippier

Kyle Walker


Jude Bellingham

Jordan Henderson

Mason Mount

Kalvin Phillips

Declan Rice


Dominic Calver-Lewin

Phil Foden

Jack Grealish

Harry Kane

Marcus Rashford

Bukayo Saka

Jadon Sancho

Raheem Sterling

Post a Comment

What do you think?

Previous Post Next Post