Italy out, but three Italian coaches still at EURO 2024

Vincenzo Montella
Vincenzo Montella, Head Coach of Turkiye walks out of the buch prior to the press conference of Türkiye at BVB Stadion Dortmund on June 21, 2024 in Dortmund, Germany. 


Italy may be out of EURO 2024, but there are still another three Italian coaches left in the tournament – Vincenzo Montella, Domenico Tedesco and Francesco Calzona.


The Azzurri crashed out following a 2-0 defeat to Switzerland in Berlin, officially hanging up their title as reigning Champions of Europe.


That too was not entirely out of character, as it means each of the last three European Championship winners have been eliminated in the Round of 16 when defending their title.


It also happened to Spain at EURO 2016 and Portugal in EURO 2020 before Italy in EURO 2024.


Italian tacticians can still have say at EURO 2024


Meanwhile, the competition continues for another three Italian tacticians in Germany, as the Round of 16 carries on today.


Calzona is up first, as he sits on the bench of Slovakia and will face England today at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT).


He took the Slovakia job in the summer of 2022 and in a strange scheme also worked as the caretaker manager of club side Napoli from February 19 this season.


Curiously, he had been at Napoli during the 2021-22 campaign as assistant manager to Spalletti.



Tedesco’s Belgium will play against France on Monday at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT), but although he was born in Italy, he moved to Germany at a young age with his parents.


Montella and his Turkey team will play Austria on Tuesday at 20.00 UK time (19.00 GMT).


There were originally five Italian coaches in the competition, but Marco Rossi’s Hungary went out in the group stage.

Want to know more about livetscore check out our article

Post a Comment

Please 🙏 engage and share this content

Previous Post Next Post